[001] ♛ Inception

While I’ve been toying with the idea of a blog, the inception of this particular one is something of a crazy random happenstance.

I mostly say this because I love the phrase crazy random happenstance, but it’s really not far from the mark. A friend wanted me to contribute to his blog post, and signing up was the easiest way to roll up my sleeves and jump in.

I don’t really have a plan. Much like my writing, I have fancy notions and I’ll dive right in. I don’t even have a focus, because as any that know me can tell you, I’m not one for that sort of limits. My interests are varied, and it’s highly likely that I’ll flit my topic to topic according to my whims. That said, you’ll probably hear a lot about geek culture, gaming, media, paganism, and whatever else. It may get strange in this forest, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I tend to view life through an anthropological lens, so that hat may come out from time to time.

When I’m lazy, I like to write that I’m textbook enigmatic, which is a line pilfered from Doctor Who. I’m assuming at this juncture that those that see this have already met me, but knowing the powers of the internet that may change at any point. So here’s the basic run-down.

I’m a young woman living in New York. I grew up with a wonderful family, and a mother that raised me to be a free thinker. I’m forever grateful for this fact, as it allows me to constantly re-evaluate information, and admit when I was wrong. I did some of that last night in a debate.

My background is in anthropology, and I focused on geek culture and religions. I also have an interest in programming and infosec. And poi, and cross-stitch, and writing, and storytelling,  and…

Oh, and I have ADD. I was diagnosed last year, with the inattentive subtype. I’ve always been a dreamer. In describing my experience, someone made the apt description that it was like being at a metal show and putting your head between the speakers to drown out the sound.

I’m a devotional polytheist, and open about my paganism. Despite this, I’m a bit shy about talking to others about these experiences, but I may end up writing some about it eventually. I have a strong relationship with Loki, that I’m terrible at defining. Some use the term priestess, some oracle, and some use more modern terms, but the term godspouse still makes me twitchy. For the record, I’m not talking about Loki as the Marvel antagonist. I don’t care how pretty Tom Hiddleston is, that’s not who I give my worship to. That said, I’m cool with that man reading me poetry any time and he’s a talented actor. I’m a devotee of the Morrigan, who is the sovereign deity of Ulster. My mother’s side of the family is from Donegal, so this was more appropriate than I originally anticipated. I tend to steal notions from all different religions, mostly along the lines of “don’t be a jerk”.

Speaking of Loki, this blog name Hævateinn is a reference tied to him in Norse stories. It’s a variation of a handle I’ve used for a long time, Lævateinn , but it’s been over a decade and I’m finding it harder to find available. Ironically, Lævateinn  may be an emendation of the former so this might work out better.

In Fjölsvinnsmál, Hævateinn is Loki’s weapon. It translates to “damage twig”.  Lopt is another name for Loki. Per Benjamin Thorpe’s translation:

26. Tell me, Fiölsvith! etc.
whether there be any weapon,
before which Vidofnir may
fall to Hel´s abode?
27. Hævatein the twig is named,
and Lopt plucked it,
down by the gate of Death.
In an iron chest it lies
with Sinmoera,
and is with nine strong locks secured

There’s speculation that the weapon is a magic staff instead of a sword. I’ve always liked that thought. And  yes, I took the reference from wikipedia. This is what happens when I write while on lunch at work. :3

 

 

5 comments

  1. Pingback: All The Small Things | sittingbetweentworivers
  2. basicmanfitz · December 4, 2015

    Damage Twig! \m/

    Liked by 1 person

    • torchvixen · December 4, 2015

      I feel like this is a very trickster theme. “Aww look at the cyuuute little…OW FUCK OW!”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Christine Doering · December 5, 2015

    As a pagan who has a strong relationship with the deity, is it like Tom Hiddleston is doing sexy Loki cosplay then? I can understand appreciating that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • torchvixen · December 7, 2015

      Sorry of the delayed response, I was going nerd camping! (Which I’ll be writing about shortly).

      And yeah, it’s a lot like that. There are things I appreciate about the actor, so yeah you’re right. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy Marvel!Loki as a character. Hiddleston really prepared for his role, not just reading the Marvel material but also the myths. He tries to keep that in mind for his performances, but at the end of the day he’s not the person writing the script. Marvel!Loki is a one note villain in a lot of respects, and I recall there’s a great series of Marvel’s Journey into Mystery that follows his reincarnated self. Young!Loki confronts old!Loki and tells his predecessor that he’s a disgrace to his name. Loki is supposed to stand for chaos and change, and this guy is stagnant and repetitive. Young!Loki tells old!Loki his new name is Ikol because he’s the opposite of what Loki should be.

      The tl;dr is that I find Marvel!Loki to be an entertaining character but it is like a bizarre cosplay, because the personality is very off. It’s why it drives me crazy when I post those “ship me with a fictional character” meme and people choose Marvel!Loki. I sit there going, “We wouldn’t get along. At all. He’d tell me to kneel and I’d tell him to go fuck himself and we’d just end up running around in circles arguing about free will or something because I don’t agree with him AT ALL.”

      Hope my early morning rambles make sense.

      Like

Leave a Reply

